Jason Behrendorff re-joins Perth Scorchers

The left-handed bowler Jason Behrendorff has committed his T20 career to the Perth Scorchers by signing a new two-year contract.

He secured this deal after a triumphant BBL|12 season and will remain with the team until the end of the 2024-25 BBL season.

The agreement was finalised on Saturday between the two parties.

Behrendorff played a crucial role in the Scorchers’ fifth BBL championship win, where they defeated the Brisbane Heat in the finals held in February.

Having claimed 107 wickets in BBL, the 32-year-old is ranked seventh on the all-time wicket-takers list. As a seasoned player, he is well-versed with the challenges of the tournament. He expressed his delight and enthusiasm about continuing to play for the Perth Scorchers.

“I’m absolutely stoked to sign with Perth again,” Behrendorff said in a club statement.

“It’s a team that I’ve played a lot of cricket for and a team that I love. I love playing here in Perth, have a lot of mates around me in Perth, and we’ve been very successful. It’s a lot of fun.

“Having a clear idea of what my strengths are and what the team requires of me is a fortunate position for me to be in.

“Having the ability to do what I need to do in terms of execution, working on the things I need to, but also the role clarity.”

Behrendorff took best of 14 wickets this season. He praised the Perth Scorchers’ bowling unit, highlighting its varied skillset, and also acknowledged a personal improvement area.

“We compliment each other really nicely. We’ve got different skillsets but experienced skillsets as well, which is very exciting,” Behrendorff said.

“To keep us moving forward, we’re always looking to get better at a new delivery (or skill). For me personally, I was able to bowl through the middle and at the end at the death overs this year.

“It’s been a very good group, and I can’t wait to play for a couple more years here.”

Behrendorff is the latest addition to the list of Perth Scorchers players who have renewed their contracts. Other players who have re-committed to the team include Andrew Tye, Lance Morris, Matt Kelly, and all-rounder Cooper Connolly.

Leave a Reply