New Zealand Test Squad against India

New Zealand all-rounder Jimmy Neesham has been named in the 16-man squad for the three Test match against India, starting on September 22 in Kanpur followed by Tests in Kolkata and Indore.

Fast bowler Matt Henry and batsman Jeet Raval have been dropped from the squad.

“Jimmy has put in a lot of work to make sure he is physically ready for a return to Test cricket,” Larsen said. “Having two pace-bowling allrounders in Jimmy and Doug Bracewell helps the balance of the squad, particularly if playing on pitches which demand a spin-heavy bowling attack.

“Jeet Raval misses out on this tour, but we were really pleased with what we saw of him in Africa. He did everything asked of him and we’ll continue to monitor him closely.”

Squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling.

Leave a Reply